Haiti

As you read this, I am sitting on a plane, jetting toward Miami.  From there, I’ll continue to travel to Cap Haitian, Haiti, where I’ll spend the next five days serving the community there with a group of students and leaders.  The letter below was sent to friends and family earlier in the year.  I’ve chosen to share it here because, while the fundraising portion is no longer applicable, the prayer part could not ringer truer.

Dear Friends and Family

Hello!  I hope this letter finds you well.  As many of you know, I began my freshman year at Grove City College in the fall, and am already finding myself nearly halfway through my second semester.  While the academics are certainly challenging, I have loved learning and growing in an authentically Christian environment.  I have been so blessed by the community here and I’m excited to travel this summer and experience a different community in a very different part of the world!

This spring, myself, along with ten other college students and leaders, will travel to Haiti on a mission trip in partnership with Orchard Hill Church.  We will be gone from May 15th to May 20th.  Orchard Hill has been partnering with an orphanage right outside Cap Haitian, Haiti for almost twenty years, and I am excited to be a part of this tradition!  While we are there, we will work with children, assist with various building projects, serving food, and minister to the local community.  Jesus spends most of the gospel loving those who are materially and spiritually poor.  My hope during this trip is that I will learn more about God’s heart of compassion and respond in a tangible way to God’s call to love the poor.          

This trip provides an opportunity to meet the physical and spiritual needs of a community that is desperately in need.  More than anything, I would value your prayers for our team and those whose lives will be touched by God through us.  I believe that God answers prayers and I’m asking you to pray for safety, good health, intentional relational connections with the Haitian people, smooth travel and peace as we enter a part of the world fraught with brokenness. 

Beyond your prayers, I also want to ask you to consider financially supporting this trip.  I need to raise $1500 to cover transportation, food, and materials.  This is a journey that God has called me to and I would greatly appreciate any level of support you are able to offer.  This trip is being funded entirely through donations and by those going on the trip.  

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this letter and learn about this trip.   If you have any questions at all, please feel free to contact me.  I look forward to sharing more about the experience when I return!

With love,

Molly

One thought on “Haiti

Leave a Reply

